Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 63

pebe
Nobel Prize Winner

United Kingdom
1078 Posts

Posted - Sep 16 2011 :  12:50:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Juan,

1). For 1.5kW output you may need around 2.0kW input. At a nominal 13.5V input that requires about 148A. That means a minimum of 2 x IRF3205 FETs each side – preferably 3, as in the circuit.

The FETs don’t consume any power to switch them, but the gate capacitance has to be continuously charged and discharged by the 555 driver as the gate voltage is varied. The capacitance of 3 gates is about 10nF and the 555 can source or sink 100mA, so they will charge/discharge in less than a microsecond. That’s quite adequate for the job.

2). The IRF3205 can switch 100A when the gate is driven to +6V, and with +9V it is switched on hard. So there is enough gate drive.

3). I have no experience of using FETs to drive loads that are partially inductive, so I cannot answer your question about the series resoistor. But I’m sure that Audioguru can advise you whether 10 ohms is OK.
Go to Top of Page

JUAN DELA CRUZ
Mad Scientist

Philippines
476 Posts

Posted - Sep 16 2011 :  1:44:09 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by pebe

Juan,

1). For 1.5kW output you may need around 2.0kW input. At a nominal 13.5V input that requires about 148A. That means a minimum of 2 x IRF3205 FETs each side – preferably 3, as in the circuit.

The FETs don’t consume any power to switch them, but the gate capacitance has to be continuously charged and discharged by the 555 driver as the gate voltage is varied. The capacitance of 3 gates is about 10nF and the 555 can source or sink 100mA, so they will charge/discharge in less than a microsecond. That’s quite adequate for the job.

2). The IRF3205 can switch 100A when the gate is driven to +6V, and with +9V it is switched on hard. So there is enough gate drive.