Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

wasssup1990
Nobel Prize Winner

A Land Down Under
2261 Posts

Posted - Apr 23 2009 :  04:12:24 AM  Show Profile  Visit wasssup1990's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hello everybody,
I want to get more involved into audio. You can assume that I am a newbie. The goal of this project is to make a "Home Made Digital Surround Sound Speaker System" "Home Made Advanced Digital Home Theater System" I will be posting my progress on this project as time time goes by. Sometimes I may need your valued and experienced opinions on certain things, so therefore I will base this thread as the hub of this project. Feel free to post your own resources, I will add them to this first post if they are relevant.

This first post will contain resources I will be referring to. I will add important info to this first post. If I refer to a particular resource you can always find it in this post.

Features and Specifications (There are still uncertainties with this):

• Highly configurable sound system.

• Wireless surround speakers have their own Class D amplifiers. Note: Another approach is being devised.

• Surround speaker units are 3-way and bi-amped (maybe). Passive crossover between mid-range and tweeter if bi-amped.

• The ability to use audio DSP to enhance the audio and adjust delays and frequency spectrum amplitudes etc.

• Use a modified low-profile x86 architecture processing platform for processing of sound and to provide media playback facilities.

• Digital Inputs:
    Four pairs of S/PDIF audio inputs, both RCA and Optical data links per pair.

• Analog Inputs:
    Four pairs of RCA audio inputs. Assignable. for: FL FR SL SR RL RR CENTER SUBWOOFER per set

• Power requirements to head unit:
    100VAC to 250VAC, 50-60Hz with a fused C14 chassis socket.
    *-Head unit should pass less than 50W.

• Power requirements to subwoofer:
    100VAC to 250VAC, 50-60Hz with a fused C14 chassis socket.